NOVEMBER 17, 1998


The following is a non-verbatim transcript of the BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS MEETING OF SEMINOLE COUNTY, FLORIDA, held at 1:35 p.m. on Tuesday, November 17, 1998, in the SEMINOLE COUNTY SERVICES BUILDING at SANFORD, FLORIDA, the usual place of meeting of said Board.


Chairman Randy Morris (District 2)

Commissioner Grant Maloy (District 1)

Commissioner Dick Van Der Weide (District 3)

Commissioner Daryl McLain (District 5)

Clerk of Court Maryanne Morse

County Manager Gary Kaiser

County Attorney Robert McMillan

Deputy Clerk Carylon Cohen



Commissioner Win Adams



The Invocation was given by Major Bruce Williams of The Salvation Army.

County Manager, Gary Kaiser, led the Pledge of Allegiance. Chairman Morris welcomed and thanked the following for being in attendance today: Dick Harkey, representing Congressman John Mica; Judge Freeman; Judge Alley; Commissioners Blake, Martinez, and Gennell of the City of Winter Springs; and former Commissioner Sandra Glenn of the East Central Florida Regional Planning Council.


Mr. Kaiser introduced Commissioner Randall C. Morris to take the Oath of Office. Father John Bluett, St. Stephenís

Catholic Church, Winter Springs, spoke words of praise about Commissioner Morris and administered the Oath of Office to him. Commissioner Morris was seated.

Mr. Kaiser introduced Commissioner-Elect Carlton D. Henley to take the Oath of Office. The Honorable Judge Thomas G. Freeman administered the Oath of Office at this time, and Commissioner Henley was seated and welcomed by the Board.


Chairman Morris surrendered the gavel to County Attorney, Robert McMillan, to act as temporary Chairman to the BCC. He advised the nominations do not require a motion or a second to a motion. He opened the floor for nominations for the Chairman of the BCC.

Commissioner Van Der Weide nominated Commissioner Henley.

Commissioner McLain nominated Commissioner Maloy, who expressed appreciation but stated due to having a new baby on the way, he would decline the opportunity to serve. He stated he will not commit to something with a number of new responsibilities on the Board.

Mr. McMillan closed the floor for nominations for Chairman.

Districts 1, 2, 3, and 4 voted AYE.

Commissioner McLain voted NAY.

Motion by Commissioner Morris, seconded by Commissioner Van Der Weide, to unanimously acclaim Commissioner Henley as Chairman of the Board of County Commissioners for 1998/99.

Districts 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 voted AYE.

Mr. McMillan passed the gavel to Commissioner Henley, whereupon, he assumed the position of Chairman.

Chairman Henley opened the floor for nominations for Vice Chairman of the BCC.

Commissioner Van Der Weide nominated Commissioner Maloy.

Commissioner Morris nominated Commissioner McLain, who stated at this time, his business will not allow him to serve.

There were no other nominations.

Districts 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 voted AYE. Whereupon, Commissioner Maloy assumed the position of Vice Chairman.

Chairman Henley expressed, on behalf of the Board and people of Seminole County, his thanks to Commissioner Morris for his three years of service to the Commission. He gave opening remarks, stating it is apparent that each Commissioner brings a little bit different approach to the Chair, and he is sure he will be somewhat different than Commissioner Morris. He has noticed that one thing all of them have had in common was the sincere desire to make Seminole County a better place as a result of their service. He shares in that goal as he is sure each of the Commissioners seated today agrees. They have a tremendous responsibility and he thinks they can fulfill that if they can work together for the good of the County. He said everything does not have to be a 5-0 vote, but they will honestly debate each issue and vote their convictions. This means demonstrating the proper respect toward each Commissioner, citizen, and staff who appears before this Board. He is aware that during the election, various Commissioners supported the candidate of their choice; thatís the American way, but the election is over, the people have spoken, the decision has been made and the five Commissioners seated are a result. It is incumbent upon them to find a way to work together for the good of this County. It is important that they appreciate one another and respect the position that each Commissioner holds.

Chairman Henley thanked the citizens in attendance today for their support during the election. He requested the Commissioners leave the politics on the other side of the door when they walk into the chambers to conduct the Countyís business.


Mr. Kaiser asked the Board to authorize Commissioner Morris to sign the payroll until such time a new signature plate is made.

Motion by Commissioner Van Der Weide, seconded by Commissioner Maloy, to authorize Commissioner Morris to sign the payroll until such time as a new signature plate is made.

Districts 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 voted AYE.


Chairman Henley announced that refreshments are available outside in the lobby.


There being no further business to come before the Board, the Chairman declared the meeting adjourned at 1:50 p.m. this same date.